top of page
Deep Mettle 2, November 2022 front only.jpg

Cover art by Nataša Ilinčić

RELEASE DATE  -  1 November 2023

Deep Mettle Vol. II - Tools of War

"Little spark . . . you are changed . . ."

Antissa has come under Ratheine attack; not from the walls, but from below - her ancient pipes.

The flooded Hub threatens collapse of the Deep under the fortress, while the scheming Sanhedrin council creeps ever closer to removing Rusper Symphin as Viceroy; the engineer whose protection of the refugees from Naemia amounts to treason.

Tool to a nation on the brink, a Naemian boy enters the desert. Armed with the Disc's arcane 'Sight', Florian Flint now takes his place on a secret task-force contingent led by the High Commander Plamen. Its urgent purpose - in nine days - to locate the hidden river system by which the Rath accessed the pipeworks: the key strategic advantage in Vorth's return to open war.

The Disc itself has other thoughts.


COVER, no title, 300 dpi.jpg
COVER 2, no title, 72 dpi (online resolution)_edited.jpg


Deep Mettle Vol I is now available to read on Royal Road®, where Jay Campbell can be found on the site under the author handle: Voidstep.

From October to December 2022, the book has been released as a bi-weekly, chapter-by-chapter serial under the volume title Pipes and Fusils.

As of 26 February 2023, the 2nd edition of Volume I is available on Amazon KDP in paperback, hardcover and e-book formats.

Volume II, Tools of War, began serialising on Royal Road® in January 2023 on the same bi-weekly schedule, and is currently ongoing; new chapters released on Tuesdays and Fridays (GMT).

Royal Road® is the home of web novels and fan fictions. In their amazing community, you can find various talented individuals who write as a hobby or even professionally, artists who create art for them, and many, many readers who provide valuable feedback and encouragement.

See you there!

Volume I  -  2nd Edition

The revised 2nd edition of Deep Mettle Vol I was released on Amazon KDP on 26 February 2023. It is available in e-book, paperback & hardcover formats.


PAPERBACK   £ 10.95
HARDCOVER   £ 19.52
EBOOK   £ 4.25

(Free to read on Kindle Unlimited)

The Cycle Schyluscient is a prospective 5-part series of fantasy novels set in and around the isolated Inwold realms. The opening instalment of the series, Deep Mettle, will be released in 2 volumes; available from Amazon KDP in paperback, hardcover and e-book formats. Cover art for both volumes is by Nataša Ilinčić.

Deep Mettle Vol I: Pipes and Fusils

1 November 2020 (Paperback)

7 November 2020 (Kindle Edition)

26 February 2023 (Hardcover)

Deep Mettle Vol II: Tools of War

1 November 2023

Watch this space for updates!

Deep Mettle volume 1

Vol I

Pipes and Fusils

Deep Mettle 2, November 2022 front only.jpg

Vol II

Tools of War

bottom of page